Presenting the 49th Annual WMSHP Spring Seminar

An educational program developed for community and health-system pharmacists, technicians, residents, and students

Tuesday, May 15th, 2018
Prince Conference Center
Calvin College
1800 E. Beltline SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546

Click here for information and registration.

Pre-registration deadline is May 8th, 2018.

President's Corner - April 2018

Posted on March 19th, 2018 by Katie Adrian

Those who attended our March meeting were treated to an excellent presentation about updates in diabetes management from Susan Cornell, BS, PharmD, CDE, FAPhA, FAADE. We want to extend a big thank you to Susan for the very informative and interactive discussion.

On April 12th we will be back at Uccello’s in Grand Rapids to support two pharmacy residents as they present their yearlong research projects.  Lauren Fay, PharmD, from Mercy Health Saint Mary’s will be presenting her project entitled “The Urgent Need for Urgent Care Antimicrobial Stewardship.” We will also be hearing from Lauren VanDenBos, PharmD, from Borgess Medical Center, as she presents her project entitled “Effect of Initiation of Pharmacist Driven MRSA PCR Testing on Duration of Anti-MRSA Antibiotic Therapy.” Both projects focus on the impact pharmacists can have on patient care.

Each year WMSHP offers two scholarships to eligible P3 students.  This year, the Board has voted to approve a scholarship in the amount of $1000, and a second scholarship in the amount of $500. The application deadline is April 6th, 2018, and the winners will be announced at the annual WMSHP Spring Seminar.  For more information please visit our website at

New this year: Members now have the opportunity to join the Membership Committee or the Community Outreach Committee. Joining a committee is a great way to get involved with WMSHP, and to give back to the community. For more information about the committees, please contact Katie Adrian at


Pharmacy Technician Relicensure Resource

Posted on March 18th, 2018 by Brad Miller

The qualifications from LARA are as follows:

Pharmacy Technician Relicensure

Applicants for relicensure must submit the following:

  • Submit copies of certificates showing proof of having completed 20 hours of continuing education within the 2-year period immediately preceding the application for relicensure including 1 hour in pain and symptom management relating to the practice of pharmacy, 1 hour in patient safety, 1 hour in pharmacy law and 17 hours of pharmacyrelated subject matter including the following topics: Medication or drug distribution; Inventory control systems; Mathematics and calculations; Biology; Pharmaceutical sciences; Therapeutic issues; Pharmacy operations; Pharmacology, drug therapy or drug products; Preparation of sterile products; Prescription compounding; Drug repackaging; Patient interaction or interpersonal skills and communication. A minimum of 5 hours must be obtained by attending live programs, courses or activities

Notice how a minimum of 5 hours must be LIVE. Our CE credits are important for expanding our knowledge and sustaining our certifications and licensures. WMSHP is a resource that will help you accomplish both of those requirements.

If you go to you will be linked to a great resource that costs Pharmacy Technicians $30 for a one-year membership which includes a complimentary dinner and live CE once a month (skipping summer months) on a Thursday evening.

WMSHP also has a Spring Seminar (Tuesday, May 15th, 2018) where you can earn all 5 live CE credits (it costs $45 for non-members and $30 for members)

In total, by being a pharmacy technician member you can obtain 12 CE credits in total *7 of them from the monthly meeting and 5 from the spring seminar* for only $60 for the YEAR!

Don't stress about your relicensure and recertification requirements, join WMSHP and enjoy a complimentary dinner before learning alongside your peers!


[Click here to download a printable PDF version of this information.]


President's Corner - March 2018

Posted on February 16th, 2018 by Katie Adrian

We had a great turnout for our February meeting, where we learned about different uses of ketamine.  Thank you to Matthew Gurka, PharmD, BCCCP for the very engaging and interesting presentation!

Congratulations to Lauren Fay (Mercy Health Saint Mary’s) and Lauren VanDenBos (Borgess Medical Center) for being selected to present their year-long projects at our April meeting.  We are looking forward to hearing more about their research!

We invite you to join us at our next meeting on Thursday, March 8th at Borgess in Kalamazoo.  We will be featuring a presentation from Susan Cornell, BS, PharmD, CDE, FAPhA, FAADE, entitled “2018 Diabetes Update:  The Medication Makeover Edition.”


President's Corner - February 2018

Posted on January 24th, 2018 by Katie Adrian

We had a great start to 2018 with our January meeting at Martell’s in Kalamazoo. Thanks to everyone who came out to hear an excellent presentation on updates in heart failure by Jona Lekura. Our next meeting will be in Grand Rapids at the Wege Center in the lower level classroom. Matthew Gurka, PharmD, BCCCP will be presenting on the expanding uses of ketamine. Hope to see you all there!

Reminder to Pharmacy Residents: Submit your research abstract for an opportunity to present your residency project at our April WMSHP meeting! Interested residents will need to email their research abstracts to Carrie Morrison ( no later than February 1st.


President's Corner - January 2018

Posted on December 22nd, 2017 by Katie Adrian

I hope everyone is having a happy holiday season!  We had another great year of programming in 2017, including our November speaker, Lauren Ice, PharmD., BCPS, BCOP, who educated us about the treatment of oncologic emergencies.  It’s hard to believe that it’s already time to look ahead to the opportunities of 2018.  Our next meeting will be held on Thursday, January 11th at Martell’s in Kalamazoo.  Jona Lekura, PharmD., BCPS, who is a clinical pharmacy specialist in cardiology at Henry Ford, will be presenting “An Overview of Chronic Heart Failure Management.”  We hope to see everyone there!

We also welcome our new and returning board members. The newly elected board members are:

President-Elect 2018: Stacy Brousseau, PharmD, BCPS

Treasurer 2018-2019: Jordan Posey, PharmD, MBA, NHDP-BC

Board Members 2018-2019:

  • Tara Longman, PharmD

  • Julie Schmidt, PharmD, BCPS

  • Kyle Schmidt, PharmD, BCCP (incumbent)

  • Mitchell Stein, PharmD (incumbent)

  • Natalie Washburn, PharmD

Resident-at-Large 2018: Stephanee Schrader, PharmD (Spectrum Health PGY1)

If you would like more information about WMSHP, please visit our website at